E5 Fuel

Graham Hudson

New Forum User
VOC Member
Probably an old topic by now, but I am having problems with e5 petrol in my motorcycles. My 1951 Rapide is misfiring, also my 2014 Royal Enfield and my 1908 Triumph. I clean the plugs which used to be a brown colour but are now a sooty black. They are good for some miles but then they soot up again. Tuned carbs on Rapide but soot deposit returns. Running with Castrol additive to neutralise ethanol but problem persists. Looking at Aspen now but it is expensive. Has anyone experienced this and got any advice. Thanks Graham Hudson

Bill Thomas

Well Known and Active Forum User
VOC Member
A long time ago I had to weaken the slides on 3 Vincent Bikes,
But they were not standard carb's,
Mk1 , Mk2 Amal, T.T. Amal and Dellorto ,
I think I did it by grinding a bit out,
Unless you can get a half size weaker.
Good Luck, Bill.
P.S It also depends what Spark Plugs you use, I like Champion N5c or N9y.

Last edited:

kerry

VOC Member
I am no expert but told to only use Esso or BP Ultimate, E5, must also be fresh, does not like being in storage more than 3 months. These two are supposed to be ethanol free ?
The best by far is aviation LL if you have a small local airfield nearby , try that and you will be amazed at the difference and it keeps for a year or two with no deterioration.

lee_812d

VOC Member
Having three bikes misbehaving in the same way does point to a common denominator like fuel but is that necessarily the case, maybe there is another thing in common (like where the fuel came from). I would have thought that the 2014 bike is modern enough to be designed for E5/E10 so maybe best to sort that first.

vibrac

VOC Member
Esso Supreme if they have the guts to say its ethanol free on the web thats good enough for me and its good enough for Bens twin to get fastest lap at Goodwood.

flxible

VOC Member