Loose Exhaust Push rod and Exhaust valve lifter

Gene Nehring

Well Known and Active Forum User
VOC Member
Hi guys,

I need some assistance before starting to pull the timing cover off my Series C Comet.

I was out riding with some friends and my exhaust lifter stopped working. I have ridden it home and decided I would check the exhaust valve clearance. I noticed that during a slow turn of the motor the push rod is loose at certain parts of the revloution.

I am a novice and I am wondering if the two issues are related or separate, my guess is that they would be.

I am looking for advice before I get to far into a major removal of parts.

Does anyone have any experience with this?

Thanks,

Eugene. :(

bmetcalf

VOC Member
It may be mis-adjusted. When the follower is resting on the base circle of the cam, there should be no up and down movement of the rocker, but you should be able to spin the pushrod with your fingers. If the travel of your exhaust lifter is no more that the possible mis-adjustment, it won't work. Adjust both valves and try again per the instructions in the Riders Handbook and see if the lifter works. If not, get one of those fine Vancouver Section members to take a look at things.

davidd

VOC Member
Eugene,

If you adjust it correctly and it loosens again on a short ride then it is probably the push rod collapsing. This happens if you have not matched the shape of the push rod end to the shape of the follower or the push rod adjuster. If the ball end of the push rod does not conform readily to the socket in the cam follower, it creates very high point loading and of course, the shape of the cams is hammering the push rods.

After a rebuild, I had a push rod that needed adjustment after every race or practice. After a few adjustments I replaced it hoping the spare would do better. It has been in the engine for several seasons now. The push rod I removed is below: