Help With Rear Comet Hub Shim Clearence

Steve Burden

Well Known and Active Forum User
Non-VOC Member
I am a complete novice to shimming the rear drums for clearance. This is my first Vincent. During my due diligence I noticed a scrapping from the rear drum. Having removed the wheel and taken apart both hubs I noticed a clear rub mark bordering a gouge on the right hand side of the wheel. At first I thought it had been shimmed incorrectly. I have managed to shim one side up with out any problem but the scrapping side I have to shim up so much that the nut will no longer go on the end of the hollow axel. I have spent a couple of hours trying to pinpoint the problem swopping things about and trying it identify a bad part. The drum does not seem warped. the actual brake plates look ok and when I swop them from left to right the drum that had been rubbing does not catch on the opposite side. the Axel is straight. When I read the riders handbook it indicates that I am only applying shims to stop the edge of the brake plate catching the drum it does not mention any thing about clearances on the actual cam mechanism. Any help and advice would be helpful. I will attempt to upload the photos I have taken. Thanks Steve

Steve Burden

Non-VOC Member
Sorry I have no idea how to upload pictures. It goes up to 100% and tells me it failed. They are jpeg and only 4ook in size.

tatty500

Non-VOC Member
Steve,

The plates are not very strong and get bent for all sorts of silly reasons.

If one is that far out it might be a good idea (except you'll be messing with the nicely regreased bits) to remove the hollow axle from the wheel, and with no shims between the bearings and plates, just bolt it all together in fresh air.

You can then measure the distance apart the plates are at different positions around the circumference and I'll bet you'll find the problem. Bend it back.