E: Engine Pinion Touching Thrust Washer...

50BlkShadow

Active Forum User
VOC Member
While I am installing new gaskets, I decided to take a look at the Pinion and Cam. When I removed the Steady Plate, I found what looked like the Pinion cutting away at the thrust washer. What would cause this, and what should I do? (Yes, I am new at this and learning)

IMG_1382.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_1383.jpeg
    IMG_1383.jpeg
    358.9 KB · Views: 55
  • IMG_1381.jpeg
    IMG_1381.jpeg
    418.4 KB · Views: 55

passenger0_0

Well Known and Active Forum User
Non-VOC Member
All normal stuff that you often see.
It's worth having a washer here to spread the load onto the aluminum steady plate. The rubbing is typically fixed by using a smaller diameter washer of the same thickness.
Now that you have the timing cover off it would be well worth checking all cam and idler end floats and also cam and follower surfaces for wear. I suggest that you search this site as much has been written here on this topic.

50BlkShadow

Active Forum User
VOC Member
All normal stuff that you often see.
It's worth having a washer here to spread the load onto the aluminum steady plate. The rubbing is typically fixed by using a smaller diameter washer of the same thickness.
Now that you have the timing cover off it would be well worth checking all cam and idler end floats and also cam and follower surfaces for wear. I suggest that you search this site as much has been written here on this topic.
Thanks! I’ll take a look.

chankly bore

Non-VOC Member