Misc: Carburettors Odd Amal 276 Carburettor Issues

Whiteshadow15

Well Known and Active Forum User
Non-VOC Member
I have very little experience when it comes to carbs so forgive me.

Have a fresh rebuild that has had all sorts of issues, I sourced a stock set of carbs in very nice condition off of a running machine, sonic cleaned them and rebuilt.

Now, the bike has not been running great on the rear cylinder. I had spent tons of time trying to source the issue, checked compression, timing, spark, etc.

By random chance I swapped out the carbs and put the front carb on the rear just to rule out the carb itself. The weird part is that it runs perfectly in that situation. The suspect carb has no issues on the front and the front carb seems to solve the issue on the rear. I then looked over things and swapped back and once again the bike stumbles on the rear cylinder. Checking with a temp gun the rear cylinder is about 100 degree or more cooler, in the other setup the difference was minimal. All the slides are free as can be.

Is there something that I may be overlooking?

greg brillus

VOC Member
Sounds like it's either a float level issue and/or the pilot system could be blocked, perhaps the base gasket between the jet block and the base nut is home made and blocking off the pilot circuit. The base nut comes in about 4 different heights so this could be a big issue with the float level.

greg brillus

VOC Member