ET: Engine (Twin) Leak down test

Bill Cannon

Well Known and Active Forum User
VOC Member
A while ago I noticed that the rear carb was not pulling as strongly as the front on my TPV 1200 egli. Tested by putting my hand over the bellmouth.

I borrowed the leakdown tester from work. I have never used one before and struggled to get any meaningful results at first. I realised that I was not doing the set up procedure properly. This sorted I got an excellent result on the front cylinder and a very poor one, about 70% on the rear. I didn't have a suitable piece of hose to detect where the leak was from.

So today proceeded to remove the rear head. This was made very difficult because one of the TP split cylinder studs did not want to come apart. I eventually managed this by raising barrel and head enough to get mole grips on the very bottom of the stud and then freed the top half.

Does anyone know the thread of the joint in the studs? I need locking nuts to tighten them again.

Anyway, head now off, see photos below. There's a lot of carbon in there for a new top end that's only done about a 1000 miles. Has that got to be oil or can an over rich mixture cause that, any thoughts?

Too hot to do anymore today so valves out tomorrow and see what they look like.

Cheers Bill

Attachments

• 016.JPG
    016.JPG
    389.3 KB · Views: 58
  • 018.JPG
    018.JPG
    319.8 KB · Views: 60
  • 019.JPG
    019.JPG
    237.6 KB · Views: 59

Robert Watson

VOC Member
The whole point of a leak down test is to listen.....

At TDC with both valves closed

noise from the exhaust means an exhaust valve is leaking

noise from the carburetor means the intake valve is leaking and noise from the crank case means the rings are not seated well.

Then you know what needs looking at.