ET: Engine (Twin) Identifying cams

jim burgess

Well Known and Active Forum User
VOC Member
I have an rear cam from a post war twin that has been welded to its wheel and and reprofiled after being built up with stelite. It has a number 3 stamped on the inboard end. Because it has been rebuilt I am not sure if I can rely on the 3 as a true identification, because it could be anything... The front cam has received the same treatment and no identifying number can be found anywhere.
So the first question is, how can I identify a cam?
When it was welded on, the wheel was 10 thou out so that as you spin the cam the wheel wobbles by 10 thou. This concerns me regarding meshing with the large idler.
Am I being over cautious?
What does the team think?
Best wishes and many thanks

Peter Holmes

VOC Member
I am not an engineer, but everything tells me 10 thou is too great an inaccuracy to use, I am sure it would function if you set it at zero backlash at the tightest meshing position, with the knowledge that you will have 10 thou backlash at the loosest meshing point when cold, I don't think that would be acceptable.

davidd

VOC Member
Jim,

The standard for comparing cams requires measuring the four valve events at either 0.040" lift or 0.050" inch lift. Thus, your timing card should look like this:

At 0.050" lift:
IO 26 degrees (Intake Opens)
IC 78.5 degrees (Intake Closes)
EO 48 degrees (Exhaust Opens)
EC 35 degrees (Exhaust Closes)

This cam is a factory Mk2 cam, Equal Lift is at 0.1695". The base circle drops 0.002" just before it opens. This is not a good thing, but it is common. It causes a lot of acceleration as the valve opens.

If you take readings from your dial indicator at the degrees mentioned above and the results are close, the cam profile is a Mk2.