Welcome to new forum website member, StephenRF

Vincent H.R.D. Owners Club

Well Known and Active Forum User
Staff member
Non-VOC Member
@StephenRF - welcome to the online forum website of the Vincent H.R.D. Owners Club.

We love to know a bit more about our new members, so please take a couple of minutes to introduce yourself to the other members.

www.vincentownersclub.co.uk is more than just a forum, we're a worldwide community of Vincent Motorcycle enthusiasts, and we're keen to help anyone with an interest.

Do you have a bike?
Are you looking for a bike?
What's your interest in the marque?

StephenRF

New Forum User
VOC Member
Non-VOC Member
Hi - I don't own a Vincent but I've had extensive experience of most British classic marques. But... my father bought an A Series (1936) which I think was a Comet but might have been a Meteor. He rode it from 1942 until probably '46 or '47. WS 5313.

I've posted about it on the Facebook site. It was a fabled bike and as a toolmaker and subsequently a development engineer he loved to explain to me all of its advantages. So it holds a place in my heart, not the least because when I had Triumphs, BSAs, Nortons, AJS, MZs, a Sunbeam and best of all a Velocette Venom, he would grunt a bit when we took them apart. That meant they just weren't in the HRD class (he never called it a Vincent). Though he did like the Velocette.

I believe his has long gone but until I find the original logbook I can't supply engine or frame numbers. I attach a picture of the purchase receipt. And one last thing - sometime during the War it split the big end eye in the conrod. My father heated and hammered the split shut, welded it up, bored the eye out, machined a new sleeve and big end pin and then made a floating bush Royal Enfield style because he told me he couldn't get the rollers during the War.

He loved the bike and had to sell it because he couldn't afford to fix it. A source of pain to him ever after.

IMG_2277.jpeg

Marcus Bowden