C: Clutch Twin clutch centralising plungers

Chris Launders

Well Known and Active Forum User
VOC Member
Should both plungers be touching their pins at the same time, I'm suffering from clutch slip and never tackled the clutch before apart from when it's had oil on it.
Anyway I've decided to have a good look at it and I've noticed that when turning the centre one way one plunger is touching its pin and the other is about 1/8" away, this changes over if I turn the centre the other way.
Chris.

Chris Launders

VOC Member
Yes but only just, Most have some play,
But you don't want too much.
Thanks Bill
I've found this drawing in a previous thread.

003.JPG

Bill Thomas

VOC Member
I rode for many years with too much slack on one of my clutches,
Tends to let the shoes throw out and snag the drum
Stuart told us of a good repair ,
But I am not good at machining etc,
So I had some spare sleeves, Tubes, From another clutch, I cut down and fitted over the pins,
Where the plungers touch, just took up the slack,
Good cheap mod' !.

greg brillus

VOC Member