E: Engine Series ‘C’ Comet Camshafts

aciera

Forum User
Non-VOC Member
Hello, I'm restoring a Comet of 52, I'm not a mechanic, but in principle I'm doing pretty well.
When I stalled the engine, the rigging did not play, by trial and error I arrived at this result, which seems odd. Exhaust valve opening 46 degree, opening valve injection 29 degree, closing valve exhaust 34 degree, closing valve injection 90 degree. View the photo. I think this camshaft does not match this engine, or it possibly corresponds to a race version?
I bought this bike in 1987 from a person who was shopping.
I think I have to order a new camshaft, MK1 seems to me original? I'm not sure, is someone can help me? thank you in advance
Patrick

Attachments

• 1549099360040.png
    1549099360040.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 51

timetraveller

Well Known and Active Forum User
VOC Member
Hello Patrick, I do not understand some of the figures on your degree wheel. The value of the inlet closing at 90 deg and opening at 36 deg do not seem correct. The opening is about right but the closing should be about 64 deg whether it is a Mk I or a Mk II. If I take your figures of inlet opening, 36 deg, and exhaust closing at 34 deg then that gives an overlap value of 70 deg and that value for a Mk I cam should be in the range of 68 to 75. I think that you have a Mk I cam (or a Mk III which has the same timing but is supposed to have quieting ramps). The racing cam for Grey Flashes and Black Lightings have an overlap value of 105. You should know that over the years there have been some very poor cams made for Vincents and possibly you have one of those. Good luck with the rebuild.

aciera

Forum User
Non-VOC Member
thanks for the answer, I also think that this cam shaft is not correct, closing the intake valve at 90 degrees is much too late. I'm going to order a new cam shaft.

davidd

VOC Member
Patrick,