ET: Engine (Twin) Older engine in the Later frame rapide

Andrew Lawton

Forum User
Non-VOC Member
Sorry if this is a simple question im new to Vincents.
I have seen a few rapide's with a older engine to the frames eg 1949 engine in a 1951 frame. Is there any reason for this?There is one for sale at the min with this conversion.

Simon Dinsdale

VOC Machine Registrar
VOC Member
VOC Forum Moderator
Imaging this. It is 1968 and your only family transport is a 18 year old Vincent sidecar outfit and the worn out engine gives up on a Friday afternoon.
Your options are :
1. Try and rebuild the engine over the weekend so you can use it to go to work on the Monday morning, using Spares that are virtually non existent or badly made.
2. Buy a replacement engine from the local scrapyard or Conway motors etc for £5 and do a swap.

In those days matching numbers was never a consideration.

Simon

Sakura

Well Known and Active Forum User
Non-VOC Member
Imaging this. It is 1968 and your only family transport is a 18 year old Vincent sidecar outfit and the worn out engine gives up on a Friday afternoon.
Your options are :
1. Try and rebuild the engine over the weekend so you can use it to go to work on the Monday morning, using Spares that are virtually non existent or badly made.
2. Buy a replacement engine from the local scrapyard or Conway motors etc for £5 and do a swap.

In those days matching numbers was never a consideration.

Simon
I think I must be still stuck there. The only importance I can attach to matching numbers is monetary, or in the case of a historical or other important machine. As most road post war Vincents were basically the same is it really important?

Andrew Lawton

Forum User
Non-VOC Member
Its not the matching numbers I'm thinking about. Its the fact most of the bikes have the older engines in?
Just thought they might have changed something and the older engine was better?

Simon Dinsdale

VOC Machine Registrar
VOC Member
VOC Forum Moderator