Oil loss through breather pipe

tjcassar

Well Known and Active Forum User
Non-VOC Member
Hi, I am new to Vincents, have purchased a 1950 rapide which is completely rebuilt, running in at the moment first 500 odd miles and loosing plenty of oil especially from the front crank case breather, lost 1 ltr of oil in 400 miles!! Plenty of oil escapes especially noticed when ticking over after run!!! Is this normal?? Or could I have parts missing in the breather? Any help to solve problem would be appreciated.
Tony

Howard

VOC Member
Hi, I am new to Vincents, have purchased a 1950 rapide which is completely rebuilt, running in at the moment first 500 odd miles and loosing plenty of oil especially from the front crank case breather, lost 1 ltr of oil in 400 miles!! Plenty of oil escapes especially noticed when ticking over after run!!! Is this normal?? Or could I have parts missing in the breather? Any help to solve problem would be appreciated.
Tony

It sounds as though the timed breather may not be timed correctly, but it could be other problems.
You will find lots of threads about breathers on this site it's a common topic for discussion.
Join the VOC and you can draw on the experience of other members, it's a fairly certain, that if you've got a Vincent problem, someone's found a solution to it.

H

Albervin

VOC Member
Rebuilt with what?

Tony
Wow! That sounds like me 30 years ago.. I bought a Comet from a well known dealer, totally rebuilt. Unfortunately it was from second hand parts & beer cans (true!! the lock washers in the timing chest were from cut down beer cans) & it lost the contents of the oil tank in 150 miles! Unfortunately the dealer is still plying his trade in Twyford. (O:confused:OPs, is truth still a defence for libel?)
It is "breathing" too much due to poor ring sealing, incorrect breather timing or a combination of things that will cost a lot of money &/or time. Find someone nearby who knows Vincents & make him your best friend.

Albervin