Misc: Everything Else Looking for a Comet, what are the most obvious issues?

lippy

New Forum User
Non-VOC Member
Hi,
I'm new to Vincents and am looking for a Comet. I'd prefer a bike that has all or most of its important original parts, but may need a bit of cosmetic and mechanical work. I've restored several cars in the past and am a decent shade-tree mechanic (I can build engines, paint, and weld). I am starting to read up on Vincents to educate myself but am new to the game. I know this question is very general, but what are the most obvious things and problems I should look for in a Comet (esp Series C)? Things like parts that are particularly problematic, or parts or subassemblies that are no longer available? Thanks in advance for the help!

druridge

Well Known and Active Forum User
VOC Member
Hi Lippy
Well for a start, you have probably come to the right place!
Reading up is good; I got the Rider's Handbook, Know Thy Beast, Vincent Motorcycles (Richardson), Spare Parts List, and Original Vincent (Bickerstaff). All still available. As I understand, for a standard 'C' comet, the club spares scheme pretty well stocks the lot. There are no real 'cant get', 'cant do' issues. The engines are not terribly complicated, but appreciate work of a good standard. These bikes were certainly 'hand fettled' if not 'hand made', so they don't all go together like jigsaws, but the build quality is good. I guess I would be keen to find straight upper frame and rear frame members; I would be cautious of head stock/ oil tank (UFM) being apart or recently apart. Front suspension as Bramptons or Girdraulics are some time and money to restore if they need it. Opinions differ on which is to be preferred....