Misc: Carburettors Help with Carburettors: Advice Please

kerry

Well Known and Active Forum User
VOC Member
I have Amal Mk 2's fitted on a twin and they have no tickle button so unable to flood which Vincents seem to like, also I like the look of the originals which I have but probably need an overhaul , the screws all look good with no signs of bodgers though
Can anyone recommend a company to refurb them and make a nice job, many years ago I had a pair re-bored and the slides were sleeved over with brass.
I can buy a new pair but they are over £1000, as mine are not too bad I wonder if new slides only may be enough and if so what paint can be used to look correct on the bodies, I assume it's the slides only that wear ? I am no expert so appreciate help please.
Thank you, Kerry.

Robert Watson

VOC Member
Vic, I think he says he has a pair or pre monoblocks that need an overhaul or replacements.

I have no experience with Mk2 Amals but looking at pictures it seems they have enrichening circuits like Mikuni's, you push the little lever down and it lifts a plunger which allows extra fuel to flow into the air stream to aid starting. Maybe they are missing from yours?????

kerry

VOC Member
I like monoblocs but if fitted them it would still not be original. I may end up paying over £1000 for new correct spec but would be nice to put the originals on, bike is a Shadow and whilst I don't want complete originality carbs are a good visual asset, however maybe mine can be overhauled properly by someone, anyone know who does this work ? please.

kerry

VOC Member
OK Graham but I have had several over the years and found as per Vincent's original advice that mine have needed flooding, that said I think the originals look correct and these square looking things don't, I would still like my questions/queries answered if possible, does anyone know a restorer, could slides be sleeved, etc, or maybe someone has a newish set to sell me please

Robert Watson

VOC Member