E: Engine Egli 500 Special Carburation

Ben Langton

Active Forum User
Non-VOC Member
So I'm back in the garage trying to get the Egli riding well out on the road (where I am desperate to be). With school holidays rolling (I'm a teacher) I'm pleased and ready to get this sorted (when not so busy with my two sons). The great news is thanks to the help here in the club the oil system is sorted and running as it should with special thanks to Marcus. The not so good news the bike simply doesn't go as it should and is an absolute pig to start. I spent over an hour getting started yesterday.
I took the NGK plugs out and replaced with new brisk LOR17,s which I had hoped would be better, well I ended up putting the NGK's back in amongst other checks and a lot of kicks!
The running symptoms are (once started)!
Idles fine after a minute or so
Pulls away fine if a little lumpy
Acceleration is fine
Absolute pinned full throttle seems fine
Part throttle any position other than flat out terrible, surges forward, drops to nothing then surges again, it's like flicking the throttle or running out of fuel but plenty of fuel (50/50 avgas and super plus) and steady part throttle.
For normal cruising/riding it is terrible

In my limited knowledge I feel it's a problem with the carb Dellorto PHBE 34. I have taken it apart several times to clean it out but been unable to remove the float bowl pin to clean parts beneath. Jets are clean.
The picture below shows carb and jet sizes, do the sizes look right? Any ideas please?
image.jpeg

Bill Thomas

Well Known and Active Forum User
VOC Member
Is the pump working ?,Is it faulty and letting fuel through, Take the pin out to test.
Is the slide too rich.
Use Champion N9y plug.
Is there an air leak on the manifold.
Cheers Bill.

Ben Langton

Active Forum User
Non-VOC Member
Hi Bill, hope your well?
Where is the pump? I haven't a clue how this carb works. Pin?
Keen to learn though.
Needle is on the highest notch.
Manifold connections look good.