Advice on SEVERE tank slap

mach1ne

Forum User
Non-VOC Member
Hello everyone,
Can anyone give me their thoughts on the cause of tank slap on a 1951 series C Black Shadow. The bike has freshly refurbished Vincent shock absorbers, the wheel bearings are OK, the headstock bearings feel tight and smooth and when lifted off the ground , the Girdraulic forks have no perceptible play. It has a 19" front wheel with a new ribbed front tyre running at 25 PSI.
I'm only fairly new to this bike , but have covered about 1500 Km, without any other signs of major headshake. A couple of weeks ago, on a club run, it had a head shake that was that severe that it shattered both my wrists and threw me onto the opposite side of the road. My wife , who was following me , said I did'nt go up in the air , just straight sideways off the bike. The road was smooth and dry tar with an old road repair perpendicular to it, which had subsided slightly and had a small bump a few feet prior to the repair. I was doing about 80 Kmh on trailing throttle in anticipation of an upcoming tee intersection. The steering damper was only just tightened enough for round town riding.
Any information would appreciated.
:confused:
Thanks
Dean
Canberra
Australia

Last edited by a moderator:

krautrapide

Active Forum User
VOC Member
Dean, have you checked your pivot bearings? When they become loose, the whole unit starts wobbling!

Krautrapide

mercurycrest

Well Known and Active Forum User
VOC Member
Hi Dean,
You may have simply found the right circumstances for a tank "slapper".. "On the over run" and a bump or two, etc.... BTW, although 25psi isn't excessively low, tires have changed by leaps and bounds in the last 50+ years. I suggest you put the amount of air specified on the sidewall of your tires, having a low tire didn't help any in your mishap.
Cheers, John

rbove

New Forum User
Non-VOC Member
Tank Slapper

Dean-